An Art Installation, An Opening Event

Carolyn Cordon
4 min readApr 5, 2024

I have a dog, a Greyhound, and he gets a walk almost every day. And for some reason, about half way through last year, I began picking up and placing various rusty things I’d find along our walks. I’d bring them home, and put them on our front gate.

Once the gate had lots of things on it, I began placing the found things on the actual front fence. We live on a block of one and three quarter acres, so our front fence is quite long, the part of of property that actually has a fence there.

I also looked around our property and found interesting rusty old things there, wondering what some of them may have actually been a part of!

This ‘project’ went from being just a little something I was playing at, to being something much more interesting. I could see a variety of subjects this project covered, from recycling and reimaging potential uses of things otherwise described as ‘rubbish’, to a far more worthy thing I was doing.

The Township I live in is Redbanks, so when I realised I had made an Art Installation out of my front, I called this ‘thing’ the Redbanks RUST & FOUND Art Installation. Everyone I talked to about this project loved the name, and the idea of it, and so I’ve stayed keen on doing more and more!

When I first realised I was creating an Art Installation, I didn’t think I was going to end up having to also make an invitation to send to out to all of the people living in the township I live in as well as to interested others…I

--

--

Carolyn Cordon

Writer & Presenter — Poetry, prose, blogging, editor Mallala Crossroad Chronicle. Words are my tools, I use them well!