How To Do Things Others May Never Even Consider Doing

Carolyn Cordon
5 min readMay 6, 2024

My most recent ‘thing’ I’m doing is to create and then curate an Art Installation. When I began, I had no idea that’s what it may end up being, I was just doing something for my own amusement, picking up things I found when going for a walk, either alone or with others (including our dog Lenny). Then I began thinking about the bigger ideas that could be seen as being of interest to others, and this thing grew, and grew, until it finally became the Redbanks RUST & FOUND Art Installation!

This was going to be part of the flyer to bring attention to this Art Installation, but while I still like this photo and the words, I now have two posters, that were yesterday attached to an A Frame and put up close to this Art Installation today, and possibly other times, to attract attention to what I’ve created!

Who on earth would have decided they were going to not only create, but go on to curate, such a thing as an Art Installation? And what is an Art Installation anyway? And what does it even mean, to curate one, or anything at all for that matter?

Well obvioiusly, I am a person who would decide to do such a thing, and as I’ve gone on with this new thing, I’m learning. Learning a lot! I’ve thought further about the important aspects of what I am doing, and most importantly I considered the concepts I wish to draw attention to with this particular Art Installation I have created,

The conceptual aspects are what makes an art work into an Art Installation, in that the quality of an artwork is of far less importance then the concepts that art work, or that art, is presenting to its audience.

--

--

Carolyn Cordon

Writer & Presenter — Poetry, prose, blogging, editor Mallala Crossroad Chronicle. Words are my tools, I use them well!